The tale of The Little Black Jacket and disposable fashion

25 Oct

image

There are only 3 days left to see ‘The Little Black Jacket’ exhibition at the Saatchi gallery in London. If like me you won’t be able to see it in the flesh, there is a wonderful book to accompany the show.
I received it in the post last week and won’t lie when I say that I let out a tiny shriek at the box it came in. Have a look and tell me you wouldn’t have done the same!

image

         Pretty chic for a cardboard box

Once I got over the first time I’d been excited by a box since I was four, it was time to unleash the tome. It is a walloping book full of some of the most beautiful pictures taken by Kaiser Karl himself.

image

All the models, singers, actors and Anna Wintour are photographed wearing the classic jacket and giving it their own mark, only proving the versatility of the jacket that will never go out of fashion.
It was interesting to see men wearing what has typically been seen as a woman’s item but I think they wear it with such aplobm that it’d be interesting to see more often.

image

image

image

Kanye West, Sarah Jessica Parker and Sofia Coppola all working the iconic piece.

Leave a Reply

