The Role Model Issue

12 Oct

The latest issue of I-D magazine focuses on icons and role models, people who inspire and push the boundaries of style and innovation. It is a fantastic 94 page story with some of the best hair and make-up and styling I’ve seen in the magazine for a while.
The concept isn’t new by any means but the interviews and content really triumph in putting across the meaning of a role model.

image

image

Personally I’m not sure if I actually believe in having a role model, but if it inspires and gives someone self confidence that otherwise wouldn’t be there I can’t disregard the notion.
I have people who I admire and who inspire me from a style sense such as Sofia Coppola, who I could look at all day just for her beautiful and minimalist approach to fashion. Plus she’s friends with Marc Jacobs. In my eyes she’s the coolest woman in the world. I’ve been wanting a reason to put some pictures of her in a post and this seems as good as any. So to Sofia Coppola; My Style “Role Model” –

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The final black and white picture is from ‘The Little Black Jacket’ book by Karl Lagerfeld, celebrating the iconic piece by Chanel. Maybe that is the role model of all the other clothes?

Leave a Reply

